About the Championship 2019

Inaugural Women’s Canadian Rugby Championships Set to Commence

The first ever Canadian Women’s Rugby Club Championships are taking place this August long weekend at Fletcher’s Fields in Toronto. The best Women’s Rugby team in the country will be crowned on Sunday afternoon and the event will be live streamed. Following on the success of the Men’s version at Capilano Rugby Club, Vancouver, BC, in October 2018, Davine D. Burton, Chair, and her Committee, have been putting the final touches towards the preparation for the

Due to the unavailability of various players, the prairie contenders were unable to commit to attend the final four and Charlottetown R.F.C. and Club de Rugby de Quebec were granted the final two spots rather than having to play their quarterfinal match.

Although the B.C. Capilanos have been afforded the number one seed by the Committee, given the talent in all squads, it will likely come down to the wire.

Capilanos knocked off the reigning B.C. champions and unbeaten season record holders, Westshore Valkyries, by one point in the B.C. finals in May in a tough physical contest. They play number four seed Charlottetown R.F.C. from the capital city of our smallest province, in the first semi-final match of the tournament on Friday August 2nd at 5:00p.m. Charlottetown looks to record the first “upset” of the tournament with a victory over Capilanos.

Toronto Saracens are currently leading their league and won the OWL last year. Club de Rugby de Quebec had 9 of their players participating in Quebec’s winning team at the Provincial Competition this year. Toronto and Quebec, ranked 2nd and 3rd, will face each other in the 2nd semi-final match of the tournament – in a battle of the east – on Friday August 2nd at 7:00p.m.

All eastern teams have the advantage of being match fit though tempered by the lateness of the season and the unavailability of certain players due to injury. Capilano, on the other hand, come into the tournament healthy and fresh; however, have not been game tested since their May 2019 Provincial finals.

“We are looking forward to a great event and the first chance for Women’s Club Rugby, the grassroots of Canadian Women’s Rugby, to shine, and for the best team in the country to be crowned. It is an honour to be a part of “herstory” in the making!”, stated Davine D. Burton.

The Committee is grateful to sponsors, Canadian Rugby Foundation, Langara Fishing Lodge, Toronto Arrows, Pemberton Holmes, SportsSide Medical Services, Gilbert Rugby Canada, Aedelhard, Aptoella – Women’s Rugby Apparel, Toronto Inner City Rugby Foundation, Fletcher’s Fields, Rugby Ontario and Rugby Canada, for making this event possible.


Sponsors & Partners 2019


Canadian Rugby FoundationToronto Arrows


Rugby Canada

Contacts 2019

Davine D. Burton, Chair, rugbygal4ever@hotmail.com

Roger Smith, Secretary, rsmith@wittenlaw.com

Hans de Goede, Past Chair of 2018 Men’s CRCC, hansdegoededev@gmail.com

Michael Holmes, Treasurer, mike@phre.ca

Janice Cougle, Regional Rep, Atlantic, jcougle@sportnovascotia.ca

Cathy Caldarola, Regional Rep, Ontario, flrugbygirl@gmail.com

Maureen MacMahon, Regional Rep, Quebec, maureen_macmahon@hotmail.com

Mandy Marchack, Regional Rep, Prairies, mandymarchak@gmail.com

Barbara Mervin, Regional Rep, B.C., barbara@aptoella.com

Mark Bryant, Technical Support, mcbryant@gmail.com